nhprn

Empowerment working group

 

In health promotion, empowerment is a process through which people gain greater control over decisions and actions affecting their health (World Health Organization, Health Promotion Glossary, 1998, Geneva WHO).

WHO continues and elaborates the definition in the glossary; Empowerment may be a social, cultural, psychological or political process through which individuals and social groups are able to express their needs, present their concerns, devise strategies for involvement in decision-making, and achieve political, social and cultural action to meet those needs. Through such a process people see a closer correspondence between their goals in life and a sense of how to achieve them, and a relationship between their efforts and life outcomes. Health promotion not only encompasses actions directed at strengthening the basic life skills and capacities of individuals, but also at influencing underlying social and economic conditions and physical environments which impact upon health. In this sense health promotionis directed at creating the conditions which offer a better chance of there being a relationship between the efforts of individuals and groups, and subsequent health outcomes in the way described above. What is meant by empowerment must therefore be explained depending on the context.

The Empowerment Group discusses and studies how the empowerment perspective is taken care of and made visibel in Nordic policy documents.

Current active membersof the group

 Sofie Buch Mejsner – http://findresearcher.sdu.dk/portal/da/persons/sofie-buch-mejsner(b8237fcb-413a-4781-89f1-d21b21e708ba).html

Bente Dahl – https://www.usn.no/english/about/contact-us/employees/bente-dahl-article201071-7531.html

Leena Eklund Karlsson  –http://findresearcher.sdu.dk/portal/da/persons/leena-eklund-karlsson(e058970c-397d-43b8-a90f-fe9ad509c964).html

Malin Eriksson – https://www.umu.se/personal/malin-eriksson/

Catrine Kostenius  –   https://www.ltu.se/staff/c/catkos-1.11658?l=en

Glenn Laverack – https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Glenn_Laverack

Johan Lidmark   – https://www.linkedin.com/in/johan-lidmark-b8175612/

Ulrika Lögdberg – https://www.ltu.se/staff/l/linulr-1.52627

Berit Misund Dahl  – www.ntnu.no/ansatte/bd

Heidi Myglegård Andersen  – https://phabsalon.dk/ekspert/hean/

Margareta Sjöblom –e-mail: margateta.sjoblom@ltu.se; margareta.sjoblom@salutogen.se

Ingun Stang –e-mail: ingun.stang@usn.no

Pernille Tanggaard Andersen – http://findresearcher.sdu.dk/portal/en/persons/pernille-tanggaard-andersen(3ab68877-26af-4d94-8efb-fa63ce8ae714)/cv.html?id=119753307

Maria Warne  – https://www.miun.se/Personal/mariawarne/

 

For publications written within the network.

 

%d bloggers like this:
close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star